Rennet Tablets

(3 customer reviews)

Each tablet coagulates 50 Litres of milk. Sold in strips of 10 tablets. Rennet tablets are particularly useful if storing liquid rennet in hotter climates is difficult. Directions: Dissolve one tablet in a glass of cooled boiled water. Tablets may be halved and quartered for smaller quantities of milk. Add this solution to the warm milk at 86f-95f (30c-35c), Stir for 2-3 mins, then allow milk to rest until it is completely coagulated.  Store in the freezer for up to 3 years

These vegetable rennet tablets contain no animal products, are gluten free and NON-GMO.

• Microbial coagulant (mucor pussillus and/or mucor miehei)
• Megnesium stearate
• Microcrystaline cellulose



Product ID: 0019


These vegetable rennet tablets contain no animal products, are gluten free and NON-GMO. Each tablet is scored into 4 sections, making it easy to break into smaller amounts for home cheese making.

Not only is the rennet listed on this site suitable for many different cheeses, it’s also perfect to make the delicious, old fashioned pudding ‘Junket’ too.

We have a variety of sizes to suit the home and small scale cheese maker. The Microbial rennet tablets being particularly useful in hotter climates where storing and using liquid rennet can sometimes be an issue.

Vegetable rennet is used in the production of kosher and halal cheeses, but nearly all kosher cheeses are produced with  microbial rennet nowadays.

Luckily, there has been much improvement over recent years, in microbial coagulants development. They no longer produce a slight bitter after taste. This is largely due to the characterisation and purification of secondary enzymes responsible for bitter peptide. Consequently, becoming possible to produce great tasting cheeses with microbial rennet.

Vegetarian rennet is also suitable for vegan cheese, provided no animal-based ingredients are used in its production.

Animal Rennet is a complex set of enzymes produced in the stomachs of ruminant mammals. Chymosin, its key component, is a protease enzyme that curdles the casein in milk. In addition to chymosin, animal rennet contains other enzymes, such as pepsin and a lipase.

Rennet has traditionally been used in cheese making to separate milk into solid curds and liquid whey. Animal rennet from calves has become less common for this use, in favour of plant and fungi derived alternatives.

Allergens & Usage

Download Information Sheet >


3 reviews for Rennet Tablets

  1. Abdul Rauf Butt

    sir i am littel bit confuse please tell me how much cncentration of tablet use as i just want coaglate 3 or 4 liter of milk

    Dear Abdul, each tablet is enough for up to 50ltrs of milk. You would need to use only a tiny amount of one tablet. In your case, liquid rennet would be easier to use. Is this an option?*

  2. Simon Reed

    Couldn’t carry liquid rennet back to Africa so my wife bought your tablets. They worked very well and we will re-stock when we are back in the UK.

  3. Nadir


    Are these tablets vegetarian?

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *